PISTOL PERMIT OFFICE
The Pistol Permit clerk is located at the Genesee County Clerk's Office, 15 Main Street, Batavia, NY 14020. Our office hours are Monday-Friday 8:30 am to 5:00 pm; however we ask that any transaction be commenced prior to 4:45 pm.
"NYS Pistol Permit Recertification"
Pistol permit recertifications are mandatory pursuant to the New York State SAFE Act, and are administered by the New York State Police, NOT the County Clerk. However, the County Clerk's Office would be happy to assist you and as a courtesy we have attached the required Recertification Form that you may print and mail to the NYS Police or you may go to the NYS Police website as well at https://troopers.ny.gov/Firearms/.
The most up to date information on pistol permit recertification by the State Police that we have received is on the attached Fact Sheet.
Pistol permit recertifications are currently only required for those permits originally issued before January 15, 2013. If your permit was issued before January 15, 2013, the deadline to submit your recertification is January 31, 2018. If your permit was issued on or after January 15, 2013, the deadline to recertify is five years after the date the permit was issued. As a permit holder, it is your responsibility to recertify your permit whether you receive a notification letter or not.
To Apply for a Pistol Permit
You must be a Genesee County resident and at least 21 years of age (or Honorably Discharged from the Military, no such age restriction shall apply). Pistol permit application packets are available in the County Clerk's Office at a cost of $5.00 per packet. The pistol permit application process is a multi-step process, so please read all instructions in the packet carefully.
Applicants are required to have attended a Handgun Safety Class to be completed through an NRA certified instructor. You may sign up for the class available through the Genesee County Sheriff's Department at the time you submit your application.
The fingerprint process is explained and completed after the completed application is submitted to our office.
Pistol Permit Fees:
|Application Packet||$ 5.00|
|Submit Completed Application||$ 20.00|
|Duplicate Permit||$ 18.00 (Paper to Plastic)
$ 11.00 (Existing plastic card)
|Plastic Card Fee||$ 3.00|
|Transfer Fee (into or out of County)||$ 5.00 + $ 6.00|
|Pistol Permit Photo||$ 7.00
|Gun Dealer or Gunsmith License||$ 10.00 each|
When you come into our office to process a transaction, along with your pistol permit, we will require further identification, usually in the form of a driver’s license. Please be advised, upon the sale of a handgun, you must come into our office within 30 days to complete the firearms license amendment removing the handgun from your permit. NOTE: All amendments must be completed in person by the permit holder.
Opt Out Form (FOIL Exemption)
Change of Address
Private Bill of Sale
Estate Bill of Sale
Co-Registration of Handguns (Both must be Genesee County Licensee's)
Registration of Handguns
Upon the purchase of a firearm, the licensee will bring the required proof of purchase to the Pistol Permit clerk in our office (please note: only the licensee can amend a pistol license - a spouse, sibling, child, parent, etc. may not do this for you). Required proof includes either a receipt from a licensed firearms dealer or a bill of sale from a private individual. Please be certain to read the receipt over carefully making sure all information is correct and legible. If we are unable to read the receipt we cannot process the amendment.
Buying a gun from an individual
Purchasing a gun from a dealer
Co-Registration of a Handgun
Removing Handguns from Permit
Death of a Permit Holder
Change in Name, Address, County Or Moving Out-of-StateName Change
Transfer to Different County
To transfer your pistol permit to another county, you must appear at the Pistol Permit office, requesting that your file be transferred to the new county. If you move to a different county you are not required by law to transfer your pistol permit but you are required to change your address. If you do transfer you pistol permit to a different county you will need to submit the Change of Address Form and Transfer Out Affidavit, along with an $8.00 check payable to the Genesee County Clerk, as well as a $5.00 check payable to the county where you will transferring your permit records. The new county will contact you when they receive your file.
Firearms licensees who move out-of-state should voluntarily surrender their license, at which time the license would be suspended with possible reinstatement upon return to Genesee County, subject to investigation and current FBI fingerprint check. However, if the permit holder moves out-of-state without notification, the pistol license will be deemed revoked and original application procedures would apply if individual wished to possess a New York State pistol permit.
Lost OR Stolen Permit
Certificate of Non-Destruction
From time to time, handguns are found in the county or brought into the county under circumstances that are not criminal in nature, such as finding a handgun among possessions of a deceased licensee or purchased/brought from another state. The handgun(s) must be turned into the Genesee County Sheriff’s Department for safekeeping and while proper registration of the handgun is obtained. A procedure has been established to provide individuals a means of registering the handgun(s) by completing an Application for a Certificate of Non-Destruction and remitting it to the County Clerk's Office or the Sheriff's Department. Once a weapon check has been completed the County Court Judge will sign the Certificate and we will contact you to come in and complete the Registration process to your license or that of a licensed individual.
Please be Advised: If you do not comply with the above procedure and remain in possession of an unregistered handgun you may be subject to criminal charges