Youth Bureau

Genesee Youth Lead

youth lead

What is Genesee Youth Lead?

Genesee Youth Lead is a leadership development program for youth in Genesee County.  This eight month long program focuses on developing the leadership skills within an individual through each specific session and the hands on experience you will have.  Each session will have a different focus on our community and leadership.

We are seeking Genesee County high school Freshman through Senior students.  The ideal candidate will have carefully considered and have the time to commit to the program in which classes will be held monthly with assignments and service opportunities in-between sessions.   We are seeking youth representing a cross section of our community to ensure all participants get the most out of the program. The cost of the Genesee Youth Lead Program is Seventy-five Dollars ($75).

The selection process will be done by the staff for the program based on an application and interview process.  The class size is limited.  Youth that complete the program are encouraged to use the skills and information gained through their experience to support the communities in which they live.

The program begins in October and ends in May 2024.  The session will be held monthly from 9am to 2:30pm at GVEP (BOCES) on the following dates: October 11, November 8, December 13, January 10, February 7, March 19, April 10, and May 8. 

Applications are due on September 1, 2023. 

Genesee Youth Lead Topics

  •  Agriculture

  • Health and Human Services

  • Government

  • Law Enforcement

  • Tourism

  • Business

  • Emergency Preparedness

  • Arts and Culture

  • Leadership Opportunities

  • Community Service

  • Team Building                                                                                                                                        
  • Job Readiness Training
  • Each session has been developed to focus on a specific topic that targets issues leaders in our county deal with. 


    Class of 2013-2014:
    Kyle Andrews
    Dylan Beckman
    Abagail Bleier
    Dennis Bleier
    Kayla Casper
    Jessica Colopy
    McKenna Ford
    Victoria Gallup
    Aspen Moyer

    Class of Fall 2014:
    Hannah Bowen
    Alea DeLong
    Alexis DeLong
    Hunter Doran
    Ryan Dunbar
    Matthew Genaway
    Abagail Klos
    Alexandra Lacey
    Christopher Lemley
    Grace Marzolf
    Justina Pruski
    Leah Redmann
    Emily Staniszewski
    Sara Zakes

    Class of Spring 2015:
    Kylee Andrews
    Lydia Borrelli
    Kyle Campbell
    Taylor Heineman
    Connor Logsdon
    Amy Lowe
    Michaela Mesiti
    Ryan Moffat
    Jason Normandin
    Makenna Payton
    Chloe Schrier
    Jaidyn Smith
    Jack Sutherland

    Class of Spring 2016:
    Claire Breslin
    Mason Russ
    Maelee Sanford
    Emily Sherman
    Jacob Steffenilla
    Analiese Vasciannie
    Tyler Wood
    Michael Zwerka

    Class of 2018-2019:
    Evan Amberger
    Camryn Brookhart
    Jenae Colkey
    Erin Hess
    Courtney Kacur
    Farryn Kennedy
    Jillian Menzie
    Julie Muntz
    Caitlin Napper
    Thomas Ognibene
    Madeline Payton
    Madelynn Pimm
    Dakota Sica
    Owen Sidhu
    Julia Spiotta
    Haylee Thornley
    Charles Urbanczyk
    Mary Vandenbosch

    Class of 2019-2020:
    Shea Amberger
    Emma Ferraro
    Brock Flint
    Megan Fuchs
    Lucy LoBello
    Sadie Nickels
    Alaura Rewaldt
    Julia Uhrinek
    Marissa Webb

    Class of 2021-2022:
    Fernando Cacho
    Michael Covert
    Katelynn Everett
    Andrew Greene
    Emma Kilner
    Jackson Lundfelt
    Adam Piper 
    Libby Piper
    Alexandria Schuck
    Beckett Swanson 
    Lillian Szymkowiak
    Theodore Triftshauser
    Keira VanDerBeck 

    Class of 2022-2023
    Caris Carlson
    Deborah Catalino

    Julia Clark
    Mary Engelhardt
    Alea Groff
    Rachel Hanel
    Elijah Loysen
    Jessica Sosnowski
    Cara Williams
    Eli Williams
    Rose Wilson
    Matthew Wittmeyer
    Emily Wozniak

    Batavia High School
    Notre Dame High School
    Elba High School
    Oakfield-Alabama High School
    Pembroke High School
    Pavilion High School
    LeRoy High School
    Byron-Bergen High School
    Alexander High School

    2022-2023 Class:

     2021-2022 Class:
    Group Photo - Copy

     2018-2019 Class:

2019-2020 Class



Genesee Youth Leadership Application for Admission Form 2023-2024